Watch the above video about the mandatory MoveOver Law in effect in almost all 50 states except Hawaii, New York and Maryland. According to the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund, over 150 US law enforcement offices have been killed since 1999 after being struck by vehicles along America’s highways.
Basically, if an emergency vehicle has its blinking lights on, then you are required to either move over to the next lane or if you can’t, then you must slow down to 20 miles an hour.
You are probably wondering, Anna, why are you posting something like this? Often times, I will post information that I think my readers will find useful. In this case, we need to protect those that protect us. Our police, firemen, and other emergency personnel. Plus, remember, I am the one who always is trying to save you some “green,” and getting fined for violating this law will definitely cost you some green.
“Too many motorists still do not understand the importance of ‘Move Over,’ which is the law in Virginia,” said Sheriff Charles E. Jett of Stafford County, Va., a member of the Traffic Safety Committee of the National Sheriffs’ Association. “Drivers: please help protect the people who protect you, and follow this common-sense law. Slow down or Move Over away from emergency vehicles stopped on the side of the road. The stakes are just too high.”
Most “Move Over” laws require drivers to move over or slow down for emergency vehicles with their lights flashing. This includes police cruisers, Sheriff’s or Highway Patrol vehicles, fire trucks and ambulances.” [source]
The odd part is I have never heard about this new law which was enacted in my own state (New Jersey) in 2009. I am not alone. See below the poll taken:
“According to a national poll by Mason Dixon Polling & Research, sponsored by the National Safety Commission:
- 71 percent of Americans have not heard of “Move Over” laws;
- 86 percent support enacting “Move Over” laws in all 50 states; and
- 90 percent believe traffic stops and roadside emergencies are dangerous for law enforcement and first responders.
The poll was conducted among 625 registered voters from June 23-25. The margin of error is plus or minus 4 percent.”
In New Jersey, failing to heed the MoveOver law can cost you a pretty penny. $100-500 fine. [source] If you scroll over the map of US listed on this MoveOverAmerica site, most of the times, it will tell you the amount of the fine. In addition, while you scroll over some states, you can click through for more information about your own state law.
Readers, did you know about this law?
- None Found